Saidler & Co.'s headquarters are situated in the heart of Zug’s iconic old town in an address with a long and distinguished history. The presence of houses at this historic location was first mentioned in 1547 in the Stumpf Chronicle - the most famous historical chronicle of Switzerland and a masterpiece of medieval printing. The first building at the address is later mentioned in the Landtwingplan of 1770.
In the 19th century, the building underwent major change. It was subdivided into two parts in 1813 and, in 1891, it was demolished and rebuilt. The building continued its evolution in the 20th century. In 1904, having successfully obtained the first-ever building permit in Zug’s history, the building was extended and the Heimat-style terrace, designed by Jakob Sidler, was built. In 1913, renowned local architect Emil Weber enlarged the west-facing skylight and built the architecturally significant south-facing veranda.
Restoration and Preservation of Cultural Heritage
Today, Saidler & Co. has restored the building in line with its illustrious cultural heritage. The costly restoration process, which took years of work and the refined expertise of world-class architects and artisans, has resulted in the preservation of the cultural essence of the building.
The building now boasts five floors, covering over 500m2, and a roof terrace of nearly 50m2. It is adorned by exquisite finishings and elegant interiors that include iconic pieces such as a majestic 19th-century armchair from the Viennese Stock Exchange designed by the renowned Danish-Austrian architect Theophil Hansen (1813-1891), fine glass vitrines and other sophisticated 19th-century furnishings. The building now serves as the headquarters of Saidler & Co. It is used to welcome partners and co-investors and hold exclusive social functions.